1. Home
  2. Help
  3. FAQs

What are the penalties and late fees for a Notice of Toll Evasion?

Failure to pay the established bridge or express lane toll is a violation of California's toll evasion statutes. Toll evasion violations will be enforced. If you drive through a toll location prior to January 2021 without a valid FasTrak toll tag or without paying the toll, you will receive a notice of toll evasion. An image of your license plate will be captured, and a violation notice will be sent to the vehicle's registered owner at the address on file with the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 21 days of the toll violation.

If you don't pay your toll or invoice by its due date, you will receive a delinquent notice. The following is a schedule of penalties:

  • First notice issued: toll plus $25 penalty
  • Second (delinquent) notice issued: toll plus $70 ($25 penalty plus $45 late fee). If the toll is paid within 15 days, the penalty is reduced to $25

Failure to pay the second notice may result in additional penalties and fees and withholding of your vehicle registration by the DMV and/or a referral to a collections agency.

You may resolve your violation online by paying the balance due using a credit card, or you can submit a dispute. To pay your violation by check, please follow the instructions described on the violation notice. To pay your violation with cash, visit one of our cash payment locations or the in-person counter at the FasTrak Customer Service Center during normal hours of operation.

Topic: Toll Violations